Page 1 of 1

Source not found when path contains spaces

PostPosted: 11 Mar 2009, 13:20
by goebel
Hello all,
while working with the class browser i found a new bug. MDT can't find the sources for files just loaded into the image when the path contains spaces.

I could verify this with files in my project, where the path to the file would be something like 'D:\eclipse workspace\my project'. After removing the spaces, the sources are found.

Re:Source not found when path contains spaces

PostPosted: 11 Mar 2009, 13:24
by Bartek
Hello,

That is the well known problem related to Smallworld's Method Finder but not to MDT. You'll get the same result in Emacs Class Browser.

With best regards.

Re:Source not found when path contains spaces

PostPosted: 11 Mar 2009, 13:46
by goebel
Thanks for pointing that out.
It's been a while since i last used the Emacs.

After using MDT for quite some time, what was this Emacs thing again? :-)

Re: Source not found when path contains spaces

PostPosted: 03 Nov 2010, 13:35
by preale
OK, I think I have the same issue... can you please help confirm this? I am getting error...

Cannot open a file.
Reason:
No source location for method:
highlight_path_to_circuit_source() IN po:po!circuit_explorer_controller


I renamed my Project folder from "Circuit Explorer - Test" to "Circuit_Explorer_Test", to remove the spaces, but still get this error. Could it be because my MDT Workspace folder is under a folder with spaces... "C:\Documents and Settings\preale\workspace" ?

Thanks,

Re: Source not found when path contains spaces

PostPosted: 05 Nov 2010, 14:56
by Darek
Hello preale,

No source location... means that Method Finder has not indexed any path for code element (method, exemplar, condition etc.) you try to open. It is very common in standard images provided with Smallworld GIS. In case it is your own image review the image build procedure, provide necessary paths and then build image again.

Best regards,

Re: Source not found when path contains spaces

PostPosted: 05 Nov 2010, 16:42
by preale
OK, thanks for the explanation.
I moved my workspace to c:\workspace, and we re-built the image without any changes to the build procedure ... and now I don't get the error. So, not sure what 'fixed' it, but I appreciate the help.

Re: Source not found when path contains spaces

PostPosted: 10 Nov 2010, 15:11
by Darek
There is one more feature in MDT that is worth to mention here in this topic.

It is very common sitiuation when image files are built on separate server with use of source codes stored on that server. Developers working with those images may have not access to original source codes and they may use copies available in different locations.

In MDT it is possible to map paths indexed by Method Finder during image build to other paths currently available. Thus this it is possible to overcome source code paths incompatibilities. More information about this feature may found in MDT help.